Community
Government

Yocom announces candidacy

For Gilpin County Commissioner

My name is Jerry Yocom and I am running for the position of Gilpin County Commissioner. I have 30 years of legal and law enforcement education and experience. I am an adjunct professor at Regis University, teaching graduate students in the criminology department. After having been approached about running for commissioner,and after serious consideration and personal reflection, I became convinced that I did indeed have the ability and am motivated to take on this important role.

Although I have been in the race for commissioner for some time, I am now making this formal announcement. I am running unaffiliated. I am often asked about my political affiliation or lack thereof. Given the divisiveness, contrarianism, and discord that currently exists and frankly that has existed for some time, in both the Republican party and the Democratic party, and the lack of clarity with respect to the platform for either party, I have for some time felt compelled to not politically align myself with either party.

My family and I have been residents of Gilpin County for twenty-eight years. I first came to Gilpin County as a Sheriffs’ deputy, previously having worked as a police officer, SWAT officer, and academy instructor in the metro area, and as a site commander for an international security company on the east coast. After having worked for the Sheriffs’ department for one year, I was hired by the Black Hawk City Council to create the Black Hawk Police Department, literally from the ground up. This was a monumental undertaking, and in hindsight, I did not appreciate the immensity of the task before me. I was too young and too inspired to be constrained. The experience gained in pursuit of that assignment is particularly relevant to the County Commissioner position.