Thanks to our Gilpin County School District RE-1 Board of Education!

School Board Recognition Month

By David MacKenzie, Superintendent

January is School Board Member Recognition Month and Gilpin County School District RE-1 would like to thank the Board of Education for their volunteer time and commitment to our students. The five elected Board members are Craig Holmes, President (Term 11/2007 to 11/2019); Steve Boulter, Vice President (Term 11/2013 to 11/2021); Sarah Swanson, Secretary/Treasurer (Term 11/2017 to 11/2021); Brook Ramsey, Member at Large (Term 11/2009 to 11/2019); and Kersten Armstrong, Member at Large (Term 2/2011 to 11/2019).

The Board has numerous responsibilities of office to the constituents of the District. Two of the main Board responsibilities include representing the community by providing leadership to achieve the vision and mission through the effective operation of the District and to adopt policy to provide and evaluate the education students receive.

Accomplishments under the Board’s leadership:

  • Colorado Department of Education (CDE) Accreditation:

District – Accredited with Distinction (Highest Rating)

Secondary School – Performance (Highest Rating)

Elementary School – Performance (Highest Rating), Governor’s

Distinguished Improvement Award for exemplary academic achievement, and John Irwin Award for exemplary academic growth

  • 8th Place Ranking Among 178 Colorado School Districts (School Diggers)
  • November 2013 Mill Levy Override
    • Increase Teacher and Staff Salaries for Recruitment and Retention
    • Place Technology in Every Student’s Hand
    • Improve Security and Safety
  • Campus Improvements
  • New Elementary Playground
  • Pave and Line Elementary Parking Lot
  • Prepare for Installation of 6-lane Track and Artificial Turf Sports Field

Thank you to the Gilpin County School District RE-1 Board of Education!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button