Community
Government

Lorenz announces candidacy

• Bookmarks: 4

For Gilpin County Treasurer

I am Mary Lorenz and I would like to announce that I am a candidate running for the Gilpin County Treasurer and Public Trustee in the November General Election.

I moved to Central City in 1971 as a child, where we lived in a house in Central City that had been owned by my great grandmother. My mom, Peggy Palmer, worked for the City of Central in the finance office for over 20 years. I graduated from Clear Creek High School in 1977, because at that time there was no High School in Gilpin County. I moved away for a time and moved back in 1991 to help take care of my mom. I soon realized that this is where I wanted to live and raise my family. I am married to Tony and have four children. The oldest, Jessica lives in Grand Junction with her husband and two children. The oldest son, Anthony, lives in Wyoming with his wife and son. Next oldest, Eryk, is a sophomore at Colorado School of Mines, and our youngest, Will, is a senior at Gilpin County High School. All will have graduated from Gilpin County High School.

I am very involved in Gilpin County in many different aspects. I have been a member of the School’s District Accountability Committee since 2007 and am currently Co-Chair. I was on the Gilpin County Fair Committee from 2006 – 2015. I have been the Treasurer for the Alan Green Memorial Foundation since 2011. I have been the Treasurer for the Gilpin County School Booster Club since 2015. I was the Secretary for the Gilpin County Little League from 2011-2013. I have been a volunteer at the Ermel’s Thrift Store in the past.