Gilpin County High School spring sports awards

Track and baseball athletes recognized for season accomplishments

by Patty Unruh

Gilpin County High School held its spring athletic awards program on Tuesday, May 23. This was the third year that Gilpin had its own track and baseball teams and the first year for them to be in the 2A Mile High League classification.

Athletic Director Jeff Schuessler began the evening by acknowledging the hard-working parents who make up the Booster Club. He also thanked the administration, Board of Education, faculty and staff, secretaries, maintenance, transportation, parents, coaches, and players.

Three seniors were awarded for their four-year commitment to Gilpin’s athletic program. Keely Schmidt was recognized for track, and Eryk Lorenz and Sam Snyder for baseball.

Students honored for making First Team Academic All-State, awarded by the Colorado High School Activities Association, were Josh Trujillo and Austin Boulter for track and Eryk Lorenz for baseball.

Track Awards

Head Coach Craig Ball and Assistant Coach Kellie Bayne presented the awards for track. Booster Club President Gigetta Nadeau congratulated Jack Ball, who competed for Gilpin at the state track meet last week at Jefferson County Stadium, and presented him with the gift of a rack to hang his medals and ribbons.

Coach Ball thanked Bayne for her help in keeping all the statistics and doing the timing. He said that Jon Cain, assistant director of the Gilpin County Community Center (GCCC) had also been very helpful, explaining that the team used the GCCC to work out one day a week.

“This was a great resource,” Coach Ball said of the GCCC. “We have to run around on all kinds of surfaces, and this kept our injuries down.”

He also thanked Mary Beth Sherrod, who had donated a canopy so that the runners could rest in the shade in between races at meets.

Coach Ball acknowledged several youth who helped run the discus event at the team’s first ever league meet: Hannah Donaldson, Kennedy Perez, Olivia Ball, John Paul DiMauro, Kristi Schmidt, and Abby Smith.

“We had a fantastic season. These are all committed athletes who worked very hard and ran every event they were asked to run,” said Ball. “In the league meet, some of our kids ran the 800-meter just to help us get points, even though they’re not 800-meter people.”

The top scorer for the team was Jack Ball, who came in with 70 points and set a new school record of 52.55 in the 400-meter race at state.

Keely Schmidt earned her four-year varsity letter and scored 38 points, making her the second-highest scorer for the team.

Several school records were broken this season. Coach Ball introduced the current record holders, adding, “They are doing what the school needs – raising the bar.”

The record holders for individual events are Ashley Parkhurst for the 400-meter (104.4); Shania Gonzales for the shotput (29’3.5”) and discus (79’2”) from 2016; Austin Boulter for the discus (94’3”); and Jack Ball for the 400-meter (52.55), 800-meter (2:05.93), and 1600-meter (4:51.84). Relay team record holders are Austin Boulter, Braedyn Perez, Josh Trujillo, and Jack Ball for the 4×400-meter relay (3:54.37); Braedyn Perez, Manny Gomez, Angel Gomez, and Chase Boulter for the 4×100-meter relay (49.64) from 2016; and Josh Trujillo, Angel Gomez, Jack Ball, and Chase Boulter for the 4×800-meter relay (9:56.09) from 2016.

Team members included Daniel Jewell, Manny Gomez, Angel Gomez, Jake Duncan, Braedyn Perez, Mike Wenholz, Tristan Froio, Josh Trujillo, Austin Boulter, Jack Ball, Nicole Adams, Shania Gonzales, Lena Warren, Ashley Parkhurst, and Keely Schmidt.

Baseball Awards

Head Coach Tony Lorenz presented the baseball awards, along with Kirk Johnson and Pete Morgan.

Among the many folks thanked were Mary Lorenz, Michelle Hernandez, and Kim Holmes.

“Kim was at every game, providing water and snacks,” Coach Lorenz advised. He presented her with a special gift of a potted plant for her faithfulness.

“We had ourselves a season,” Coach Lorenz continued. “We moved into 2A – a buzz saw of a league. We had a .500 record and finished last in the league, but we beat Clear Creek in the semi-finals.”

Seven of the players had never played baseball before, so the team experienced huge growth over the season.

Morgan helped with his weight-lifting program and Johnson served as the pitching coach. George Snyder, who has helped coach Gilpin teams for many years – and, incidentally, coached Coach Lorenz back in Little League days – was also present that evening for recognition. Team managers Alicia Johnson, Courtney Holmes, and Joyce Jewell were honored as well.

Team members receiving participation awards were Kian Lamer, Eli Buckland, Daniel Jewell, and Braedyn Perez. Those receiving first-year varsity letters were John Paul DiMauro, Joyce Jewell, Angel Gomez, and Manny Gomez. Second-year varsity letters went to Cooper Lindberg, Chad Holmes, Will Lorenz, and Brekken Billman. Sam Snyder earned his third-year letter, and Eryk Lorenz was honored with his fourth-year letter.

Team members voted for the following special awards: Will Lorenz, Golden Arm Award for best pitcher and the Gold Glove Award for best fielder; Eryk Lorenz, Silver Slugger Award for best hitter and Most Valuable Player.

Will Lorenz received Mile High League Honorable Mention, and Eryk Lorenz made First Team Mile High All-League. These were chosen by league coaches.

The team’s seniors (Braedyn Perez, Sam Snyder, and Eryk Lorenz) received photo gifts by Mary Lorenz.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button