Community
Government

Armstrong announces candidacy

• Bookmarks: 1

For Gilpin County Sheriff

My name is Kevin Armstrong, and I want to be your next Sheriff for Gilpin County. I am a career law enforcement officer with over 38 years of experience. I began my career in 1980 with Wheat Ridge Police Department. I served as an officer in the Patrol Division, the Traffic Unit, and as a detective in the Investigations Division. I was promoted to sergeant in 1998. As a sergeant, I had patrol officers and detectives under my command, both in thePatrol and Investigations Divisions. I have investigated and/or supervised numerous crimes, from petty crimes to homicides. I was also a certified Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) member. This is specialized training in conflict resolution, de-escalation skills, and mental illness. I helped to develop a training program for CIT for Youth. This was specific for youth who suffered from mental illness. During my last four years with Wheat Ridge, I supervised our Crime Prevention/School Resource Officer team. I redeveloped the police department’s volunteer program and the Citizens Police Academy.